New To The Post
Posted: December 11, 2015, 12:08 AM

Hi. I am new to the msg. board. I am losing my adult son to addiction (not that it matters but we believe it's meth). Could really use some advice for the impending situations that I most likely will be faced with. He had a decent job where he was paid handsomely for the short time/season he worked, he has had some legal trouble that haunted him as a teen (unpaid tickets, suspended license) and recently was in custody for the past he didn't take care of in his teens and while he was in jail I (Mom) found out he has a drug addiction. Mostly, what I could use advice on is the fact that I am not crazy, that I have to let him hit rock bottom, that he has to want help and I can't make him do this and that I won't be consumed with guilt. I feel helpless to the situation. The last time I saw my son he was thinner than I'd ever seen him and he looked haggard, tired and very much like a stranger. Any advice will be welcome. He has younger siblings who really look up to him. I can't begin to tell them (they are under 10) what is going on, I know he is currently hanging around with family members (which is unsettling) who have and have had drug addiction. It seems like I've lost him already and maybe I just need to accept the facts. He had a very nice partner who I hoped he would marry someday but she thankfully has gone on with her life. She has an awesome support group. I guess I am the only one in denial. I believe my son has an addiction but I don't really want to believe it.
Posted: December 11, 2015, 12:54 AM