next >  post replypost new topic
Son Addicted To Xanax

Posted: April 19, 2018, 9:28 PM
27 yr old son is addicted to Xanax. His fiancee died 1.5 yr ago from heroin OD. Has a 4 yr old son. My grandson and son live with us full time now. He went to rehab last summer (prevously went to wildnerness rehab in Utah in 2015) - initally did well then one relapse after another after 3 months of being clean. Past 2 wks he's a zombie, argumentative taking money from my purse etc. He is on probation from car accident - driving with his son in car while high on Xanax and drinking. One misstep now and he goes to jail - or dies. Judge granted him back license and just needs to go to DMV - but I will not take him to get license. I've been driving him to work for 2 yrs now. When he is high he is unreasonable, chronic liar about everything and anything, argumentative, sleeps a lot, a slob basically and stresses whole family out. Only thing keeping him from giving up on life after his fiancee died is his 4 yr old son. I would kick him out but the concern is my grandson's well being. Have told my son over and over he will end up dead or in prison and god forbid he kills his son. Told him if he dies there will be no funeral - i don't want to see his drug addict friends at a funeral. I am worn out. He keeps telling me once he gets his drivers license he will go to gym and work out and that will help him stop doing drugs. I am not budging and will not take him to get license until he has been clean for quite awhile and changed his attitude. So basically I feel like a prisoner in my own home and exhausted from helping to raise my grandson (I also have another child with special needs). In past I have contacted his probation officer when i had concern, called 911 when he was out of hand. I think in some ways jail would be best thing for him but can't bring myself to call his PO now (has new PO that i do not know and he only goes to probation 1 x 4 wks cause he was doing well - but not well n