post replypost new topic
Methadone Tapper
John Paul

Posted: May 13, 2018, 10:50 PM
Needing answers to questions about methadone tapering.I have been on methadone for 10 years for opiate addiction. Started at 90 mlg and am now after many many attempts am down to 9 mlg .I am a complete wreck I cant function or sleep and constantly twitch to name only a few of my symptoms! They don't seem to ever get better and am in a constant state of withdrawal! The doctor has no answers and doesn't really care if I am suffering. Has anyone ever got off this insidious drug successfully? I pay a fortune for this stuff and really need to get off of it! Don't want to increase my code and get on the same old merry go round! Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks JP
itspossible

Posted: May 15, 2018, 6:57 AM
Hello JP, first off, down to 9mg from 90mg is huge.. I assume that you are on the liquid..
I'm not an expert on tapering because I could never do it but there are plenty of success stories on here..Overfifty's thread above will have lots of tips if you read through..
I can say however that it is possible and 100% worth it if its something that you really want..
I have to go to work but will check back later tonight..

Itspossible

Posted: May 16, 2018, 3:21 PM
@it's possible...you didn't taper? For some reason thought you did. Yeah I wasn't dealing with that method well either.
@John Paul.. Maybe bump yourself up a little bit? See if you feel better..stay at that For awhile until you feel comfortable to go down again. If you do..don't look at it like going backwards, cause sometimes you gotta to succeed.
itspossible

Posted: May 16, 2018, 8:45 PM
@marykate80 its so good to hear from you!! I hope you are holding your own and doing ok..I miss you and worry about you when you stay gone for awhile..