post replypost new topic
Support

Posted: April 23, 2015, 3:24 PM
I need support on quitting smoking. I've been a smoker for 35 yrs and Im 55. I smoked 15-17 cigs a day.I'm down to 4-5 a day. My goal it to completely quit by the end of April. I having surgery on May 5. I just need support.

Posted: April 24, 2015, 8:43 PM
I guess no one gives support in this group. This is really sad and discouraging. I have been coming to this board since May of 2004. At that time I was going through a lot with my husband (meth addict) and it was this board that guided me and gave me strength. I will forever be thankful to a very special friend whom I meet through this board. His name 'justonemore'. I could truly use his wisdom and advice right now.

I have started to journal my journey on trying to 'Quit Smoking' and don't know if it will work. Like I said in my previous post I'm down to 4 cigs a day. I should feel good about only having 4, but the truth is I'm very disappointed with myself. I have found a way to make those cigs last till 11pm. My SECRET: I take 3 puffs and cut the burning end with scissors. One cig can last me 3-4 hrs. I know, I'm only kidding myself.

Thank you for reading my post.

This post has been edited by behappy on April 24, 2015, 11:25 PM

Posted: April 25, 2015, 2:27 PM
Since no one is giving me support, I guess I will have to do this on my own. Today I decided to to cut another cig out of my life. I'm going to try and smoke only 3 cigs today. I don't know how I will make it through the day. I thought about only taking 2 puffs instead of 3, maybe that will get me through the day.

I have done some research on 'nicotine' withdrawals and it scares the s*** out of me. I praying it doesn't hit me like a ton of breaks. I have my moments when I feel sooo overwhelmed and wonder if weaning myself from smoking was the right choice.