post replypost new topic
Coping With Fathers Addiction

Posted: June 23, 2020, 12:05 PM
Hello everyone,

I found this forum after googling a forum to help cope with the various effects of addiction. I'm a college student who is home (for the first time in 5 years) due to COVID, and being home means I've been witnessing my father's spiraling addiction. He is someone who has not realised he is an addict, but his addiction impacts my family's day-to-day life.

I'm here for support, and to hear from other family members in similar positions, and hopefully get some resources on how to broach this problem. I do not want to take on a 'savior' complex -- and being the child here heightens my anxieties around this -- but I do want to help him start a path to recovery. It is devastating to witness every day get a little worse... Since I've been living out of the house and out of state, it's been easy to avoid..but since being back home I'm afraid it's getting closer and closer to a rock bottom, and the damage that's being done to the interpersonal relationships of our family is my biggest grievance.