post replypost new topic
Struggling

Posted: March 9, 2019, 5:03 PM
Hi all.

I’ve had a rough week. My son is not living at home - he’s been out of the house for a few weeks now - but we started talking more lately. I saw him a few days ago and found blood stains on his pants. It’s a painful reminder that he’s still using IV drugs. He looks horrible. Thin, pale, sad. It breaks my heart. He’s only 16. He said he wishes he were a normal 16 year old. He sounds like he’s in a dark hole and doesn’t know how to get out. Drugs are no longer used to party, but rather to numb the pain of the reality of what his life has become.

As I mentioned before, I am a nurse. One of my patients was an IV drug user admitted for a horrible infection in the spine. He died of an overdose in the hospital last week. I saw him face down on the ground but couldn’t take part in the code. It hit too close to home. His death sent me into a dark place. I am now on stress leave as I couldn’t stop crying at work. I tried to stay but it was too much.

I asked my son if he would visit a rehab I found that looks wonderful. Just a visit to see it and meet the people. No commitment. He said maybe, which is a start. I don’t see it happening but I’m going to keep trying.

Just wanted to share what I’ve been up to. Man, is this ever hard.

Posted: March 9, 2019, 5:51 PM
Yellowbird, I am so very sorry to hear this. It breaks my heart to read it, so I can imagine your pain is exponentially greater. It is so hard to understand this epidemic we are experiencing. I am a nurse, also. I attended a presentation this week on the epidemic and it takes my breath away. Shocking. And, then, to have our kids in the mix. I totally understand why you took leave. That would be more than I can bear.

Just wanted you to know that I care and am "listening". Take care of yourself.

Posted: March 9, 2019, 7:24 PM