next >  post replypost new topic
How Can A Parent Avoid Enabling?

Posted: August 21, 2018, 3:01 PM
I have family in their late 30’s with recurring addiction problems around cocaine use. They have brief periods when they are clean but they tend to lapse or relapse. I can not trust what they say any more. I have tried to be supportive with housing and sometimes food since they run out of money but I feel a bit like an enabler when I rescue them from time to time. I would like advice from people with experience as to what a parent should NOT do in terms of being supportive or enabling. It is hard to draw a firm line and see your family living without. I feel like a bit of a patsy sometimes and I think that they know that I will come to some degree of rescue when it gets down to the crunch. I am a caring professional Dad who does want to help but also does not want to enable by helping too much. It is a difficult line to tread.

Posted: August 21, 2018, 6:11 PM
I am the ultimate enabler. Provided food and housing and cars and everything else. The only way to help them is to let them deal with the consequences.
Things are going to get worse as you pull way. They addicts become more demanding.
My daughter has lost everything and is finally entering rehab. If I offered one little thing,one more ride ,ten more dollars she would not have gone.She would try to get another 10 the next day.
They say you need to set boundaries and keep them.
I suggest stepping back,no contact. Give your self some space to see what you feel comfortable doing. Cut off one thing at a time if that gets you started.
I actually would put marks on the calendar on every day that I didn't give her money..to prove to my self I could do it

Posted: August 23, 2018, 7:51 PM
hello Jay,
Search these postings in the search box at the bottom of the page:

Ways Family Members can Help, What Not to do, Let me fall all by myself, Will you learn to say No