My Sons 25 Years Of Addiction
Posted: August 28, 2017, 3:00 AM

Hi I am new to this, I have read the notice board many times. My son is 40 he has been an addict since he was 15. I have been through all the torture many people on her have experienced. He is not in prison but due out anyday now and I am dreading it as the phone calls will start , no money no food nowhere to live etc, Would anyone advising breaking all contact I really do not feel as if I love him anymore as he is not the person who I once new but my mommy instinct is saying there is a nice person there but lost will I ever get him back . He is a heroin addict and will take anything he can get his hands on I have known him sniff gas . He has shown me up many many times in his life. I have two sons one is no bother and when people ask how many children I have I now say one as I am scared to discuss what they do etc. Am I doing right in giving up.
Posted: August 28, 2017, 4:30 AM

Loving and warm welcome, Grannie. I am so sorry that you need us. We understand the pain, guilt and fear as we all have a child or loved one who is infected and afflicted with this horrid disease called addiction. We offer you support with friendship and lots of hugs. Share without shame.

First and foremost, here is a huge hug. Take a deep breathe. And release it slowly. You've been battling addiction with and for him for a long time. At the age of 40, though, it is time for him to be a big boy. It's not about giving up.... but about changing how you deal with him and his addiction. Sounds to me like you are exhausted.... at your wit's ends. It sounds like jail provided you a respite from his calls, cursing and harassment. This is all understandable. Here's another hug.