post replypost new topic
Boyfriend Is Addicted To Heroin

Posted: April 6, 2017, 7:19 PM
Hi everyone,
I'm new to this,but I needed somewhere to share my story. I have been in a relationship for six years with my boyfriend. Hes been injecting heroin for two years now. Overdosed twice and wound up in the hospital this past summer on a ventilator for three weeks. Came home from the hospital and stood clean for about four months. The best four months ever. He was so loving and caring helping out with bills and whatever else was needed around the house or anything I needed. Now he's back on heroin for the past five months. He has changed completely. When he first relapsed he said he didn't want to do this and didn't want to be this way but it messes with his mind. Now I feel like that's all he cares about. So cold and blank. I'm having a very hard time dealing with this. I feel as if I lost the person I have loved so deeply for the past six years. I feel like my life is so consumed with worrying about him all the time. He got suboxone from the dr but I believe he just uses it when he doesn't have his stuff to get high and then when he has the strength goes right back to it. I don't know what to do or how to handle him or this situation. Can someone help me?

Posted: April 6, 2017, 9:06 PM
Hello Faith,
It is hard for family members and loved ones to deal with. My son has been in and out of rehab and recovery and relapsing over the past 2-3 years. he has recently been clean for 4 months, and now has a job and is back home. we want him to be successful, but are worried bc we know how easy it is for some to go back to it.

Read these posts on the Families/Partners of Addicts board.
Ways Family Members can Help, What Not to do, Let me fall all by myself, Will you learn to say No

hope this helps

Posted: April 6, 2017, 10:36 PM
Thank you so much for sharing with me. I hope for all the best with your son and family. I know this addiction effects everyone.