post replypost new topic
Toddler Of Addict
Granny

Posted: February 9, 2017, 5:07 PM
Hello my son in law is and addict of 8 years on and off. This is his 7 relapse in 3 years.
Each time my DD has him leave. He is living in his car and using meth.
My sweet grand asks why daddy is gone again?
Any ideas what to say? If he was deployed we would talk about it. In the hospital with cancer we would talk about that.
But what to even say? I'm with my grand daily while my DD works
Thank you everyone

Posted: February 9, 2017, 5:22 PM
OP here
Sorry can this be moved to family?
I'm new to this and posted in wrong place I think

Posted: February 10, 2017, 12:52 AM
I'm so sor ry you family has been touched by addiction. For young children, it is a very confusing and scary thing. There are things we can do to help, though!

For the record, I am an addict in recovery for 3+ years. I have been married for twenty and I have an autistic daughter who is 18. Her mental capacity is about that of a seven year old. She is into barbie and disney princesses..she still believes in santa. She is absolutely the sweetest thing on earth. My husband and I have had to have "age appropriate" conversations regarding addiction. We met with a pediatric psychologist for some pointers.