post replypost new topic
What's Wrong With Me?
Karebear

Posted: March 4, 2016, 5:10 AM
I just have a quick question to ask and hopefully someone out there can help. I've been shooting meth for the last 5 yrs. However, I've gone from everyday use, to maybe once or twice every other week. But the longest I've been clean is probably 3 months..and I was in jail.
I would like to hear from some people who have been in recovery and been where I am. Stuck...I've got so much to lose, but still take the risk...why??? What are some things that helped you or still help you? Thank you
LostMyLife

Posted: March 4, 2016, 11:49 AM
All I can tell you is this: I had 3 beautiful kids and a very abusive, narcissitic husband. Had I not gotten addicted to Meth (and the needle) he would never have been able take my children from me! Once he did, I had nothing left to live for and I went further into my addiction. He made sure to tell everyone we knew including my kids that I was an addict and that I did not want them. They have never truly forgiven me. That was 20 years ago and I still struggle with sobriety every day! Even after everything I have lost! I am 53, I have NOTHING! No job, no faimly,no money, no future, no self esteem! When I finally came out of my drug induced stuper I realized that the world around me had progressed; everyone was living their lives, going places, having fun. But my life had stood still...It is a very hard reality to come to terms with, believe me. Now at 53 EVERYTHING is much harder! I am looking for work but because of my lack of work history am looking at low level jobs. I have a college degree and am biligual but none of that matters now! Anyway, my point is NOTHING good comes from doing drugs!!!! Even occassionally. Especially meth. It will grab you and before you even realize what is happening, you will be in jail or on the streets or worse, simply have lost years of living!!!! Hang on to life!!! LIVE!! It's ok. Really. =]