post replypost new topic
I Am So Lost—lifeline, Please

Posted: October 29, 2018, 12:07 PM
I am so lost and so afraid. A year ago, I was a professional working in a career I loved. Today, I’m still lying in bed at nearly noon, in pain, afraid and desperately lonely, despite having a husband and older kids.

I have degenerative arthritis in my legs. I’ve been to three different orthopedic doctors who have looked at my MRIs, done enough bloodwork to drain an elephant, and taken X-ray after X-ray. Each says that my pain exceeds what should be normal for what they were seeing. I was sent to pain management.

At first, it was great. Better than great. Two oxy a day, low dose, and I was able to function virtually pain free AND be active. Over a period of six months, the dosages kept growing. When I hit 40 mg. of oxy twice a day and still needed additional relief, I was transferred to fentanyl patches. In a month, it was clear they weren’t working, so I was put on progressive doses of Zohydro. They supplemented with 300 mg. of Gabapentin, three times a day. It was then that I transferred clinics.

The new pain management group thought my issues stemmed from overuse of opiods and started me on a taper to withdraw. They also prescribed medical marijuana. For the past two months I tried withdrawing from the Zohydro, but I found an old bottle of 30 mg. oxy and self medicated with those for a few days. When they ran out, I begged vics from everyone I know and used those. Three nights ago I hit rock bottom. No vics and I was never so sick. I took a handful of Valium hoping it would help. It only succeeded in making me vomit. In the throes of what I can only describe as a meltdown, a friend gave me three vics. I took two and was better in an hour. Not just a little better, either. For two hours i was normal again. Then the brain fog and pain and cravings returned.