post replypost new topic
Tramadol Hell

Posted: May 17, 2016, 2:09 PM
Hi everyone,
I know this has been posted before, but I wanted to possibly get some personal feedback from people who have been through, or are going through this now. I have been abusing Tramadol on and off for 10 years. I had successfully hidden this from everyone in my life until 3/1/16 when I had a breakdown (in the throes of w/d) and told my husband everything. He was surprisingly supportive and urged me to tell my therapist, which I did through a lot of tears. With their help I started focusing on leading a Tramadol free life, eating better, and exercising. Slowly they both kind of stopped asking me about it, obviously not fully understanding how addiction works. 3 weeks ago I caved, telling myself I could buy some and take them recreationally. Well, here I am withdrawing from a 4-500mg/day habit again and trying to keep it quiet. I am currently 21 hours from my last dose and feeling shame, the chills, and extremely tired. I am just so devastated that I started this s*** again, and I'm terrified that my husband won't be so supportive this time. I almost want to ask him to drug test me weekly or something because I apparently can't trust myself:( Any encouragement or advice would be greatly appreciated! Thanks so much for taking the time to read this.

Posted: May 17, 2016, 4:28 PM
You sound like me. A true-blue garden variety addict/alcoholic.

The only thing that worked for me was to admit defeat (before I killed myself).

I have found AA/& NA to be the only treatment that works and it's FREE.

I have AA's HOW IT WORKS posted below in my sig line along with The Big Book of both AA and NA free on-line.
Read HOW IT WORKS and get into the AA/NA literature and see if you can identify.

There are millions of us - don't feel so hopeless and helpless.
When you get to the meetings you will meet a roomful of folks just like you.

All the best.

Bob R

--------------------
Serenity Prayer