post replypost new topic
Long Term Use Of Zolpidem For Shift Work

Posted: March 13, 2012, 2:36 AM
Hi Everyone,

I have been using zolpidem for more than 5 years now. I've never had problems sleeping until I got my current job which requires me to work rotating shifts. At first I tried OTC sleep aids, but didn't really seem to help much. I remember one day my body clock was so messed up I didn't sleep for over 24 hous. Then I turned to prescription sleeping aids, and zolpidem worked best for me. The first couple of years I was on it were ok, but then I had to take more than one to fall to sleep. It got to the point where I was taking 30 or 40 mg at a time to fall to sleep. And I can't say that I never enjoyed the euphoric side effects. However the primary reason I used them was for sleep. When I would run out of the pills, I would try to get them refilled early, but was not always successful. When I don't have ambien, I drink to help me fall to sleep. In the last couple of years I have realized how unhealthy this lifestyle is, and even though I like my job and want to stay, I can't do so because I can't work rotating shifts without help of some kind of sleeping aid. So I've decided to quit my job, but I can't until I sell my house. I could forclose, but I don't want to do that. My question to you is whether I should stop taking the zolpidem all together, or continue taking them when sometimes having the pills there makes it difficult not to take more than one if I can't sleep with one. Any help and suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

sleepdeprived

Posted: March 13, 2012, 3:51 PM