post replypost new topic
Swollen Hands???

Posted: March 22, 2007, 5:53 PM
Hi everyone! I am new to this chat board. I am 49 years old,female, and my beautiful nephew Charlie is a 32 year herion addict. He has been through numerous rehabs and looked like his last one was gonna stick only to have his Dad, my brother, die suddenly of heart disease. This threw him back into a tailspin and he has been clean off and on. I notice his hands get very swollen. Is this because of his poor circulation?? To me it is always a give away that he is back at it again. Please reply with any answers. Thanks, Jo Ann

Posted: March 23, 2007, 5:42 AM
Hi, JoAn, Sorry it took so long for someone to get to you.

I'm so sorry about your brother's passing......you sound like such a good Aunt...good lookout too for what you have come to know as a sign of his use....not that one particular sign is always a given either.

I'm not an expert but what I know from using.....well it can be from blowing veins out in your hand......or it can be from just the heroin itself.......people that smoke or snort their heroin get swollen hands and ankles.....personally that was one of the signs my family knew I was using......swollen feet and hands....if I hadn't sold my rings I sure as heck couldn't have gotten them on my hands.......and I have seen people their hands so swollen they looked like sort of boxing gloves....from blood pooling and all.

People see itching and scratching......eating loads of sweets.....pinpricked pupils........they're all sure signs.....I'm so sorry it must hurt you terrible.....you can go over to the part of the board for Friends and Family members and get good advice there......on how to proceeed to help him......sounds like you know in your heart he's definately in active use.....his dad's death no doubt he picked back up....had to be awful for you all....I'm sorry.

Posted: March 23, 2007, 7:00 AM