post replypost new topic
Alcohol Abuse

Posted: November 30, 2018, 8:59 AM
Hello, everybody, several weeks ago I decided to start a new life and to become a new person. My new life without addiction. I have been drinking alcohol for several years and it was the only treatment against all my problems. Now I stop drinking, but problems are still with me and only become bigger. I feel anxious and depressed. I found several sites, like Addiction Resource, and there I can find some useful information, but I need some advice from somebody with the same experience. THANK YOU!

Posted: December 1, 2018, 9:15 PM
Hi Jo. That was my experience too so I relate. It took me a while to learn that though things seemed worse it was because I was more aware of what was happening around me and to me. It is depressing, it is difficult and it seems hopeless at times. I can assure you that if you get help, have someone you trust to help guide you then you will learn to deal with life on lifes terms. It is not easy but it is doeable.. I did it , still doing it and so far have accumulated 8 years of sobriety by doing it one day at a time and taking life one day at a time..hang in there it will get better...

--------------------
Thank God for what you have. Trust God for what you need

Posted: December 3, 2018, 3:40 PM
The best choices that we can make for ourselves are usually the hardest choices that we will have to make. I know it is cliche, but if the right choice was easy, everyone would make the right choice more often. That's what I tell myself anyway. The overwhelming feelings and depression are real, but stay on this site, stay connected, and you will feel less alone in the struggle

Posted: December 10, 2018, 6:57 AM
Aint that the truth - you put the drink down for a few days and you can no longer HIDE. Now you have to face REALITY. Yup it sucks at first but it does get better.