post replypost new topic
Functioning Addict
msfunctioningaddict

Posted: August 22, 2016, 6:42 AM
You hear the stories about functioning addicts "he's a lawyer and he does heroin", "she's a doctor and she loves coke". The occupation part is easy to admit to, I'm a full time worker with a degree, I'm a law student - the addict part is harder to admit.

I'd never heard of synthetic weed before my boyfriend introduced me shortly after we met. That was 3 years ago. He rarely smokes it. At first I thought it was rubbish, I love REAL weed, weed's allowed - doesn't affect me the next day, yes it's illegal but a really normal girl from work delivers it and it's socially acceptable in many circles (mine). I don't have a problem in terms of needing to "wake and bake" - I just like to get high after a stressful day. Some people have wine, I have weed. It wasn't an every day thing, not even an every week thing.

I'm not sure how things spiralled out of control the way they did, obviously at some point I decided I liked synthetic weed or maybe I just decided it was a whole lot easier to buy (the girl from work stopped dealing). It seemed cheaper, a couple of tokes and BANG. Then it started to feel like maybe I needed it more often, then I needed it every day. Initially I went to the adult shop myself, I didn't care if they knew I smoked it. I didn't think I'd see them all that much. Then they started to get friendlier and I started to feel a little bit embarrassed, not even the adult shop workers smoke the stuff. The people I saw in the shop, scary. But still, that wasn't me.