post replypost new topic
Propofol Abuse
Mary Quitecontrary

Posted: August 10, 2016, 7:34 PM
Hello. I am an ICU nurse in Texas currently enrolled in my last year of a three year monitoring program with the state. Nothing happened to me. I chose to self-enroll. I was abusing any drug waste I could get my hands on as a CVICU nurse which was a LOT over the course of two and a half years. For the last six months of my addiction I was exlusively using propofol-- sometimes two 1000mg vials per night. I went to 31 days of inpatient rehab and I am at the end of my second of three years in intensive outpatient treatment. I have done very well, but I am the only person I know of that had a love for propofol and so I feel like nobody really understands. I wasn't looking for a high. I was looking to be completely unconscious. While I was in rehab my husband, who knew nothing about my addiction until the week before I left for rehab, filed for divorce because I said I wasn't coming home to be married to him anymore. His treatment of me was the main reason I chose to self medicate along with the near death of my four year old daughter from a drug resistant pneumonia. There really is no good excuse. But here I am two years sober with plenty of proof in writing of my good mental and emotional health, not to mention all the 2-3 negative drug tests per week and I still have to visit my daughter for one to two hours per month in a bare little room with a counselor supervisor. She is now 8 years old and begging to have more time with me. Even the supervisors at the counseling center are upset by the distress of my daughter and have told my ex husband repeatedly that this limited supervised visitation was not intended to be long term and has got to end for the sake of my daughter. I can tell you right now he won't let me see her until a judge forces him to. My court dates in Louisiana (in the district my ex husband works as a family attorney no less, HA!) keep getting cancelled and post