post replypost new topic
Cutting: Addicted To Scars

Posted: November 26, 2010, 11:42 PM
Hello everyone,

It's been a long time since I've posted on here. In addition to my substance addictions I've realized that I'm addicted to cutting. I've been cutting on and off since I was about 10 years old. When I was younger it was a way to release all of the emotional pain I was feeling in an easier way. I was abused in every possible way as a child: physically, emotionally, sexually and I never reported any of the incidents. Cutting was a result of bottling up all of the pain that I was feeling, but as I got older my excuses for cutting got more and more menial. Now, all I have to do is have a rough day at work or an argument with a loved one and it's suddenly an excuse to cut.

I've replaced the heroin, the pills, the alcohol with a blade and if I continue down that road I'll run out of skin to scar. I was just wondering what helps any of you to avoid cutting and some of the things you replaced your substances/self-destructive behaviors with.

--------------------
"When hope is lost, tomorrow is never seen."
Mike137

Posted: January 12, 2012, 5:22 AM
I used to cut myself as well. What stopped me is someone that I really cared about made me promise that I wouldn't do it anymore. I grew up with this person, and it mattered to me a lot that what I was doing wasn't only hurting myself, but it was hurting them.

You need to realize that what you are doing does hurt others. Some people may tell you that you are just looking for attention, and I think that is true to some degree, but that isn't the core of the issue. The issue is that you just don't feel what you think you should be feeling. Perhaps you don't feel anything at all - completely empty at times. I know what that feeling is like.