post replypost new topic
About To Start Methadone

Posted: February 28, 2014, 10:39 PM
Hi, I am completely new to all this. I start my program in 5 days. I'm happy, scared, excited, sad and every other feeling I'm able to feel also. I've been using dope/painpills for 8yrs and am so ready to be off. I've lost an excellent job due to stealing to pay for my habit, ruined countless friendships and most likely took numerous years off my life!! I've heard a lot of negative stuff about methadone until i came across this forum. Not much info out there about methadone so this site has been so helpful being able to hear from other people is really nice.

Posted: March 1, 2014, 6:46 PM
ricka217,
Your words warm me to the bone!!! When I first came to this site I saw NOTHING about methadone here.
I was so angry( and I still am) at the bad rap methadone gets. There are sites for every drug known to man on the internet, like this one, but one had to go to other sites to find out about the wonderful things that methadone can do for opiate addicts.

That was until the wonderful people in charge of this site sided with me and added the methadone board! While it is still not as active as the other boards it is a place for addicts such as yourself can come and get answers about methadone and know you are going to get truthful, honest answers from people who know methadone inside and out. The pros, the cons, whatever.

There are those who think methadone is bad and have had bad experiences. All clinics are NOT created equal, and sometimes when addicts finally decide to try and clean up they go to a bad clinic they then think all clinics are like that. I have been going to the same clinic for 20 yrs and our patients are treated extremely well. If you are looking for a good clinic make sure they are accredited.Keep coming here and the good folks here will help you along your way to living clean. They should be clean and with nice, professional staff.

good luck!!

granny