post replypost new topic
Doctor Stopped Script As No Shared Care Agreement

Posted: December 5, 2014, 6:32 PM
OK so I live in the UK and have been on heroin for almost 15 years (since I was 18) and then for the last 5 years I was on Subutex 16mg (2 x 8mg daily). Everything was great until I moved just outside London when I've suddenly been stopped by my doctor who cites a "lack of a shared care agreement" as the reason for stopping my prescription.

I've been stable for a long while. Originally I came out of prison in 2008 and whilst in there I developed a substantial Subutex habit due to befriending the dealer. It's easier to get drugs in there than outside if you have the money.

So the issue is that I work full time as a contractor. This means having to give 110% every day otherwise they will just hire someone else instead. Yet here I am - my last dose was Monday and it is Friday already. I am drinking myself stupid but the effects are blocking less of the withdrawals. I am so tempted to go back on the drugs. All I can see going through my head is me scoring drugs. I can use them to slow the withdrawal. So long as I don't inject I should be OK if I just smoke the heroin.

I feel overly emotional and all I want is it to stop. I emailed Turning Point yesterday but they haven't been in touch despite me pleading with them to do so. It's a joke when it is easier and more reliable to score drugs from the street than to receive a duty of care from my doctor. The last time I went through the shared care agreement, they discharged me into the care of my doctor because I worked long hours and they could do little to help my treatment as I was stable and not using. Now it feels like all I want to do is use.