next >  post replypost new topic
Son Coming Out Of Treatment Facility

Posted: May 2, 2015, 1:21 PM
Hi everyone. this is my first time posting. My son is addicted to prescription drugs/alcohol and heroine. He was near death's door when my daughter found him so we ended up taking him to a Treatment Facility. He has been there for two months and is coming out having completed the treatment next week. To say I am nervous is an understatement. He stole from me, forged my name on cheques, sold his dad's tools etc. I was sick to my stomach. In any event he has done very well and said he will never go back to another treatment facility. My concern is what to do when he comes out. His dad does not want him back living with us and neither do I . But until he finds his own place would it be wrong for us to take him in once again. How do you deal with someone coming out. I love him and want to support him (not financially) but not sure how to do it or what to say to him. I was going to make a list of rules that he must abide by while he is here. If anyone has any thoughts I would appreciate it.
Thank you for listening
Miss Betty

Posted: May 2, 2015, 2:53 PM
See if he can be released to a sober living house. It is a good transition from an inpatient to living on their own. The rehab facility should be able to help with that. Good luck!

Posted: May 2, 2015, 4:41 PM
How old is he?

Ask the treatment centre how best to handle him when he is released.

I strongly advise you join Al-Anon and Nar-Anon and learn from those folks.

Good luck.

Bob R

--------------------
Serenity Prayer
God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,
The courage to change the things I can,
And the wisdom to know the difference.

Free copy of AA's Big Book on-line: http://www.aa.org/pages/en_US/alcoh...olics-anonymous

Free copy of NA's Big Book on-line:
Copy & Paste coastalcarolinaarea.org/literature/books/b_t.pdf

AA's HOW IT WORKS: