PRIVACY
|
RECOMMEND A RESOURCE
|
HOME

How To Help?
concernedcousin
Posted: July 19, 2013, 6:01 PM

Hello all -- I stumbled upon this forum looking for treatment centers for my cousin. I hope this is the right message board, this is my first time on so if not feel free to move this over or let me know if I have to move it, etc.

My cousin is in his late 20's and the family recently learned he's been struggling with a heroin addiction since he was in his teens. We were aware of other substance abuse issues since he was a teenager, but in the last year or so it appears this is truly becoming a life-or-death situation. He has a young child, and just lost his job. He went through an outpatient program but it wasn't effective. We're trying to find other options for him right now - he doesn't have health insurance so we're pulling funds together, looking into different facilities etc. He's willing to going into long-term treatment, but as you can imagine that's not the easiest thing to do so he's hot and cold about it. So my questions are:

1 - Has anyone had any good or bad experiences with any particular treatment facilities that they could share? Anything about the facilities, the doctors, the treatment plans, etc? Any things to keep in mind when evaluating whether a facility might be the right fit for someone?

2 - I really don't know what it's like to be an addict, and I think that's true for the majority of our family -- we're all concerned for him but I think we're also all afraid to talk to him about this issue because we don't know how he'll react, we don't want to hurt him but I'm sensing that he's sort of going into hiding and that can't be good. Any suggestions on how best to reach him, communicate with him effectively, let him know we're concerned for him -- without scaring him / hurting him / etc?

Sorry if this sounds silly, we're just all really clueless on this and we just want to do the best thing for him. Thanks for your time, I appreciate any comments.