|
PRIVACY
|
RECOMMEND A RESOURCE
|
HOME

People, Places & Things
Posted: July 16, 2013, 7:59 AM

I had posted a question about the value of changing the people, places & things in the Heroin section not realizing there is a "Family" section. I am new to this!
I have a son who is a heroin addict and has been in and out of detox & treatment since March 2013. In this time he has been through detox 5 times, completed 2 30+ day in-patient programs and did brief stays in 2 other in-patient programs(he left 1 program because there were actually people using in the residential home & he walked out AMA from the other) I do not even count those 2 lost weeks as any part of his recovery. With that said, my son DID successfully complete 2 programs and the reports & conversations with his therapists from both places indicated that he was a very willing participant in groups, did all of his assignments and was not combative or disruptive. The problem starts when the professionals suggest he still needs IOP or some other follow up care after he gets out of treatment. My son does go to halfway/sober living and this seems to be the problem. We live in S Fl. which is a hub for recovery. My son is VERY connected to this area and I'm sure has numerous drug connections which I am sure are triggers.