post replypost new topic
Functioning Addict, Continuous Relapses
Functional Addict

Posted: June 7, 2016, 7:49 PM
My problem is that nothing detrimental has ever happened to me directly due to weed. I have been smoking weed for 11 years now, and have been smoking daily since my last break 5 years ago.

I was introduced to weed my senior year in high school but it wasn't until I started college the following year later through my boyfriend (that I met the first week) an upperclassman and also a weed dealer) Most of my circle of friend smoked in college and saw how weed affected people differently, I developed the attitude that as long as my grades were good, weed wasn't a problem.

The first time I realized I had a problem was the next year after my boyfriend and I broke up and had to started paying for weed lol It didn't take long for me to realize that I couldn't stop smoking weed despite telling myself every time that this was the last time I would buy bud. All the people I chose to surround myself with after the break up, were other student smokers. So in effort to quit weed for good, I signed up to go abroad in program with no one else from my school in Perugia Italy.

Italy was the first time I took a long break from smoking, hash is abundant there but i didn't like it. Towards the end of the semester, a female british student was found murdered. The next day I was really freaked out and was walking to class when I see a dealer that offers me hash, I stupidly follow him thinking nothing could happen since its mid day and end up getting assaulted. I tell my school, and in light of everything that happened, they let me to go visit my college friend studying in Amsterdam, it was there that I started smoking spliffs and started my addiction to nicotine.