next >  post replypost new topic
Sick Of Being Sick And Tired (sobsat)

Posted: October 22, 2014, 4:48 PM
Hello my dear, dear friends all over this board... I call myself SOBSAT as I'm so deeply, sincerely Sick Of Being Sick And Tired...my codeine addiction has reached a place way beyond anywhere where reason can exist...I currently take about 120 nurofen/panafen plus pills teach containing 12.8mg of codeine each as well as the ibuprofen)...most sickening is tHat I have been doing this for almost 10 years now....I am a mother of 2 gorgeous girls and have a wonderful supportive husband who's tried his everything to,help me off them before...I actually work as a health professional in a large hospital and see countless times what addiction of many sorts do to lives and their families....but It still does not spur me to stop...I have had 2 brief periods of sobriety...one about 4 years ago when I came clean to my GP and he admitted me into a rehab facility...stayed clean for about 3 months then right back to it..and again about 6 years ago when I wasn't taking so much...did them all cold turkey...I once read in this awesome forum that "doing the CT is the easy bit...it's abstaining later that's hard".... I cannot remember who wrote that but how true it is!!I suppose I went back and relapsed after a few months of being clean not because I wanted to be a slave to the pills again...but to just have a brief moment of euphoria/clarity/warmth that it gave me amidst my troubled past, my present thoughts and worries and to just escape from the depression of my mind for a brief period...pathetic I know...this is actually so embarrassing to write but it's like I feel I know so many of you...I read your posts and feel your pain and sometimes cry when I feel your anguish written between the lines...God bless you all....you are all such wonderful people and what I would give for us to all get together and chat, debrief and learn from each other's experiences... Wow that would be som