post replypost new topic
Struggling In Silence - Will It Ever End?

Posted: April 8, 2013, 12:04 PM
Hi,

this is my first time on a site like this. I am not sure what to do at this point - if only I knew then what I do now.

I’m 22 now, this whole mess started when I was 18 (constant feeling of needing to get out of my head). I’ve had depression/anxiety for a longtime and a significant traumatic experience I still can’t wrap my head around.

One day a couple years ago, a friend gave me a “bar.” Whoa, this stuff makes it easier to be me.. I feel better. I never took them to feel “barred out,” (I hate that feeling) but what I can only imagine in the average person’s world, “normal.”

I then was given adderall. Whoa, this stuff makes me happy. I didn’t know it was possible to feel this way, I love everything. (I’ve always had trouble focusing, but I believe it was due to my anxiety)

I found it convenient to take xanax as I was coming off the adderall (30mg xr a day, random doses of xanax..). This went on for about 6 months. I was not prescribed any of this and bought them off the street (would buy friend’s add script), xanax off the random dudes at gas stations.

I worked, and at the time had my living expenses covered. The xanax addiction eventually took over and it was a full-time thing. Looking for the next seller.. not being able to find it (those days were hell), worry worry worry. More and more anxiety. Will I be able to make it to work tomorrow?

Now I didn’t take it to feel better, I took it to feel how I did before I started taking it, and that feeling came rarely (I miss naivety). 3mgs to get through a day at work, 4 5 or 6 on especially demanding days (I pretty much gave up on a social life).

I hid my addictions well (and still do). I have bipolar/borderline tendencies and blamed it on that (infact that “empty/bored” feeling definitely contributed).