post replypost new topic
Possible Relationship With A Recovering Addict
Marie

Posted: May 22, 2014, 1:06 PM
Hi! I am new to this. I have a growing issue that I don't know how to react to with my friend who is a recovering heroin addict. We have grown up together and, therefore, known each other for 20+ years (we are both in our 30s now). He has been clean for a year and a half. He has done very well with his recovery so far. About 6 months ago, we started to engage in a sexual relationship in addition to our friendship. Last night, we both finally admitted that this has gone beyond "friends w/benefits" and that we both have feelings for each other. The problem comes in that he is also trying to figure out what (if anything) his ex (mother of his child) and him may still have. I am torn between running away from him or sticking it out for right now to see what may happen. Either way I am terrified that the stress of everything will cause him to go out and use again. I don't want to be the cause (or the blame) of him using drugs again. I love him very much. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Posted: May 23, 2014, 7:48 PM
Hi Marie,
In recovery there are many types of "recovery".
Speaking from experience, heroin is a drug like no other and it takes a special kind of recovery to stay clean. The ones who usually succeed are the ones who have a good support system, with supportive family, clean friends, who goes to meetings and has a sponsor among other things.

They do what it takes, they listen to others who have worked a good program, and they do whatever it takes to stay clean. THEY COME FIRST. Especially in the beginning you have to be selfish and do what is best for yourself above all else or you cannot and will not stay clean.