SITE MAP
|
PRIVACY
|
RECOMMEND A RESOURCE
|
HOME

Dealing With Being In Second Place To The Drug.
Athena
Posted: July 9, 2013, 11:47 PM

Hello everyone! This is my first time on this website & very first time reaching out for help in general. I hope to find someone who can give me some insight and advice in regards to being in a relationship with someone who is addicted to pain pills or heroin. I would like to hear from someone who has been in my place as well as someone who has been in my boyfriend's place!

I am still in love with the ambitious, loving, hard-working, kind man I met years ago. He has fallen in love with a substance that has cost him his career (I support him at the moment), his attitude (he has major mood swings), his finances, our sex life- everything. The number one thing on his mind everyday is the drug. He talks about it nonstop, he tries to find more of it nonstop, and will do anything at any time for it. There was a time when it was me that was always on his mind. I have been replaced and this is clear. We used to have sex regularly/ a lot, and now all he needs is his high. I believe he has lost his sex drive all together. It makes him seem selfish, when I know that he doesn't mean to be. We are both in our early twenties, fit, and attractive. I crave sex like a normal young person, and I feel undesired and frustrated.

I have tried my fair share of substances. I wanted to experiment and try different things so I could learn and be more understanding. I am thankful to have had the ability to try as many things as I did without growing an addiction or getting into any trouble. Because of this, I understand the euphoria that he is in love with, but I cannot understand his obsession . How can one be obsessed with something and not know? Or is it that he does know, but does not want to admit it?