next >  post replypost new topic
Dating A Recovering Addict
Robin

Posted: December 23, 2011, 10:58 AM
Hi all, I'm sorry if these are silly questions. I'm new to this. I just recently started dating a wonderful man. Yesterday he told me that he is a recovering heroin addict. He said he has been clean for many many years and he certainly seemed open and honest about it. It's not something I know anything about so I'm a little nervous. I by no means want to give up on what we may have and I really don't want to judge him as he was so open with me but I'm just a little apprehensive. Again I apologize if this is an ignorant question.....is it truly possible for an addict to never go back to using heroin? I'm not trying to be offensive but I want to know what I'm choosing to be a part of.

Thank you so much for reading.

Posted: December 23, 2011, 1:24 PM
Of course it's possible. Someone who works a program and has been clean for many years has a pretty good shot at never using again. But, it's also possible to relapse. It's a symptom of the disease.

If he's a good guy, be happy. See where it goes...as long as he's honest and open about it, I would say you got a good one.

--------------------
I used Drugs to forget, I got clean to remember.
dirty dingus

Posted: December 24, 2011, 2:41 AM
There are thousands that HAVE stayed clean and created new purposeful lives
If you have feelings for this person, you shouldn’t let you preconceived conceptions of what a heroin user is, we are not all thieving untrustworthy scumbags, I know junkie lawyers, journalists etc
The monkey that is H isn’t particular who’s back he jumps on
Who knows this might end up being the person you fall in love with and have kids with,
Don’t let you fears hold you back, the past is behind us the future unknown all we have is this moment
BOB
Run

Posted: December 26, 2011, 8:38 PM
run away as fast as you can, your in for heartache and hell

Posted: December 27, 2011, 12:20 AM
Robin,