post replypost new topic
I'm New And Need Help.

Posted: September 20, 2014, 8:06 PM
Hi, im new to this. I feel like chat would help me more than meetings because I'm more likely to participate. I'm embarrassed to go to meetings fearing i may see someone i know. I do need help. Alcohol is taking my life. I drink every few days to the point of sickness each time swearing to never do it again. Today i fought the urge hard and won but i worry about tomorrow.

Posted: September 21, 2014, 6:21 AM
hi guest welcome to the board..Try stepchat.com there are meetings there.good luck

--------------------
Thank God for what you have. Trust God for what you need

Posted: September 21, 2014, 7:20 AM
Ty very much.

Posted: September 22, 2014, 8:57 AM
I like to see new people come in and immediately demand their independence and how incredibly different they are. Reminds me of my own contempt and arrogance when I first got here. Preconceptions, pride, egotism... Terminal Uniqueness is what they told me. When I was embarrassed more about pissing myself, or crapping myself, or vomiting at all the wrong times, or unable to hold down solid foods, or being drunk at all the wrong times, or hiding out all by myself in fear of the world, I became willing to take suggestions. Until then no amount of physician's advice, psychiatric advice, meds, geographic changes, job changes, booze combinations, or pill packs would have convinced me that my life wasn't a normal one.

If you want to drink, that's your business. If you want to quit, AA can help. If you think you're different, that your pride is not going to kill you, that you can drink just one or two, then go ahead and try it. Try stopping for a year, too. If you're an alcoholic, those convictions will be gone within the week--month on the outside. You may even have more conviction to try it again, too.