post replypost new topic
Otrivine Withdrawal

Posted: March 22, 2016, 2:42 PM
Hi all,
Last night I decided to try and kick my addiction of otrivine. It's been a long time coming. I've been using it for 10 years now. I use at least 1 bottle per week. I have always suffered with my sinuses, infections, pain and allergies. I've had tests but they're all come back normal. I've tried Vicks nasal spray and many other nasal sprays but to no avail. They didn't work. A friend of mine recommended that I buy otrivine and it gave me the best relief ever. I could breathe normally again. Of course 10 years ago they didn't give out warnings not to use it longer than 7 days. I've only been hearing that warning here in Ireland in the past year, too late then, I was hooked. I couldn't go anywhere without a bottle and I carried spares in my bag and in the car, God forbid I forgot it. I have been thinking for a long time of how I'm going to stop. So yesterday I put how to stop otrivine addiction into a Google search and up came this forum. After reading all the posts on this thread, btw thanks for sharing, I'm going to use the one nostril at a time method. I'm going to keep a diary on this thread to hopefully help other sufferers in their recovery of otrivine.
I'm starving the left nostril first as I think this will be the hardest for me as I sleep on my left side. Once I can breathe normally thought that nostril I will move on to the right one, should take anywhere from 3-7 days for the first one to unblock.
Day 1
I woke up this morning at 8. My left nostril was completely blocked, with my right not far behind. I sprayed one measured dose into the right and got relief after a minute.
By 10.30 my left side was still blocked so I took a sudafed tablet and off I went to work. I found driving bad as I felt very closed in as I couldn't breathe properly. Had to turn on the air conditioning in 7 degree temps!!!